Connect With Us


Festival Hours 10:30am - 6pm, Saturday 11th Feb

Main Stage

The 808 Quintet

The 808 Quintet is a Jazz combo from Blenheim, New Zealand consisting of George Young on Guitar, Jack McRae on Percussion, Jonty Zydenbos on Trumpet and Flugelhorn, Aidan Bass on Bass Guitar and Tony Thiel on Piano and Keyboard. The band, strangely enough, originally began at the local Marlborough Boys’ College, with the current lineup being tutored in Jazz by mentor and later band member Tony. However, from these humble beginnings, the band has gone on to win several prestigious awards at the Southern Jam Jazz Festival, such as Jonty Zydenbos winning best improvised solo and Jack McRae coming away with judges’ choice for overall musicianship. The Quintet plays a range of Jazz styled music such as Standards, Bossa Nova, Latin, Fusion, Blues and Swing. They are extremely well versed in improvisation, and both standard soloing and blues 'Call and Response' soloing is commonplace in the Quintet’s material.

The Steeps

Midge McCleary, a long-established musician in the New Zealand acoustic scene has teamed up with Dean Vitale (on drums) from Australia to produce a high powered upbeat funk roots blues duo who have been gaining recognition around New Zealand for their energetic live shows.

Newtown Rocksteady

Newtown Rocksteady is a dance band that simply makes you move. With cool covers, righteous melodies, and hot original songs, Newtown Rocksteady is more than a band, it’s a moment in life. They can also be described as a Jamaican Rocksteady / Soul / Funk / Dub Big Band and feature past and present members of Trinity Roots, Fly My Pretties, The Nudge, and many more. Newtown Rocksteady is made up of 12 artists.

Hollie Smith  


Hollie Smith is one of New Zealand’s most predominant and celebrated musicians. After working with numerous bands including Trinity Roots, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Detroit Dance Legends Recloose, she was approached by New Zealand song writing royalty Don McGlashan to perform on a movie soundtrack single ‘Bathe in The River’. The song topped New Zealand charts and became one of the biggest and most iconic singles in New Zealand history.


To translate Supergroove into words is no easy task. A volatile concoction of Soul, Rap and Funk combined with a highly extroverted stage performance, Supergroove are a visual and aural explosion that leave all who have seen them ecstatic. In 2014 they were inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame after winning a Legacy Award. Supergroove members include Che Fu, Karl Steven, Joe Lonie, Ben Sciascia, Tim Stewart, Nick Atkinson and Ian Jones.

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors